Posted by: David Harley | March 30, 2013

The Truth is out there

newspaper (1)

But not necessarily on the Internet, as shown by this simulated newspaper, generated in a few minutes from a web site I noticed flagged on a social media site. That’s a few minutes to write the text, and a few seconds to generate the ‘newspaper’. Of course, if I were a real hoaxer (or outright scammer, or worse) I could have generated something intentionally deceptive. And I have software that’s capable of making – with a little more effort – whatever text I like look just as convincing as this (as soft-copy, at any rate), if not more so.

And so, probably, do you.

To address a point I didn’t have room for in that ‘clipping’: why are hoaxes and semi-hoaxes so frustrating? Because so many people are so reluctant to abandon a ‘truth’ they have adopted uncritically – perhaps because they don’t want to admit having been fooled – that they respond defensively, even aggressively. But I don’t suppose it’s going to stop me trying.

As Lincoln said

David Harley
Small Blue-Green World

Leave a Reply

Categories

