Posted by: David Harley | June 24, 2014

Tech Support Scams

It occurs to me that I’ve missed flagging here quite a few support scam blogs that I’ve addressed in other blogs. As a quick catch-up, here’s a cut-and-paste from the scam resource page I maintain over at AVIEN.

Most recently, my article for Graham Cluley’s blog: Tech support scams and the wisdom of Solomon

Plus the six blogs referenced in that article “where Dr Solly messes with the heads of assorted grades of support scammer”:

There’s yet another Harley support scam article for ESET’s WeLiveSecurity blog: Support Scam Using (MS-)DOS* Attack. The never-ending Windows support scam often misrepresents obsolete MS-DOS utilities. But three simple rules will bypass most of that social engineering.

And yet another: Scams: Tech Support, Accident Insurance, PPI, Oh My My.

David Harley
ESET Senior Research Fellow
Small Blue-Green World

Leave a Reply

Categories

