Posted by: David Harley | September 18, 2015

Arachnophobia and the fear of hoaxes

Today I came across a photo of what was alleged to be an Australian Bird Eating Spider, making the human hand next to it looking pretty puny. And naturally, I was curious to see if the photograph was genuine. (Sorry, but I haven’t been able to find it again so you can check it yourself.)

I’m not a fan of spiders and make no claim to be any sort of zoologist, so I can’t say for sure that what I was looking it was really Phlogius crassipes (probably better known to its friends – if any – as the Eastern Tarantula),  but it did resemble some of the photographs Google found for me, and apparently it can grow up to 9 cm, which its leg span can extend to 23 cm, which is a little over 9 inches. Certainly bigger than my own delicate little Jimmy Shand.

However, I came across a hoax concerning Camel Spiders (or Wind Scorpions). Not actually spiders, but solifugae, though they are, like spiders, arachnids. And that led me to a whole page about Spider Hoaxes and Myths. I can’t vouch for its accuracy in every respect, but it’s certainly more fun than removing incredibly large spiders from the bath. And it might just come in handy sometime.

David Harley

Leave a Reply

Categories

